Three Decades of Premier League Football

In 1992 football changed in England as the Premier League began its existence. In the first season only £38 million was shared between 22 teams and it has come a long way since then as £79 million was shared between all Premier League clubs at the end of 2021/2022. Since the 1995/1996 season, the league has had 20 teams.

In this article I will pick my best 10 moments from the last 30 years of the Premier League.

Class of 92

The Class of 92 was formed after Manchester United won the FA Youth Cup in 1991. It was made up of Gary Neville, Phil Neville, Paul Scholes, Nicky Butt, David Beckham and Ryan Giggs.

David Beckham made his name in 1996 as he scored an unbelievable goal from the halfway line against Wimbledon. The Class of 92 won six Premier League titles before Beckham left Manchester United in 2003.


Kenny Dalglish was the manager of Blackburn in the 1994/1995 season. Alan Shearer and Chris Sutton scored a combined 49 goals as Blackburn won the Premier League in 1994/1995.

Sky Sports

In 2001 Sky Sports confirmed they would show 40 pay per view Premier League games. This was a big moment as more games started to be showing on TV. In 2001 Sky paid £3 million in right fees to broadcast live Premier League games. Since then Sky has become bigger and pumped £1.193 billion to broadcast 128 Premier League games until 2025.


Arsenal made a statement of intent as they signed Thierry Henry in 1999. Arsenal won 2001/2002 Premier League which included an unbelievable overhead kick by Dennis Bergkamp against Newcastle.

Roman Reign

Roman Abramovich bought Chelsea for $190 million in 2003. Jose Mourinho became the first manager from Portugal to manage Chelsea in 2004.

The Blues won the 2004/2005 and 2005/2006 Premier League. Their domination was based on late midfield runs by Frank Lampard as he scored 18 goals in their 2004/2005 title win.

Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney burst onto the scene when he scored a wonder goal for Everton against Arsenal in 2002. Rooney went to another level after he signed for Manchester United in 2004.

He holds the record as he is currently Man United’s all-time leading goal scorer with 253. Wayne Rooney’s best goal for Man United was his overhead kick against Manchester City in 2011.


The noisy neighbours started to be a force as Sheikh Mansour took over Manchester City in 2008. City made a statement of intent as they signed Sergio Aguero for £36 million in 2011. His first season was sensational as both Manchester clubs were tied on points going into the final game of the 2011/2012 Premier League season with City having a better goal difference.

Man United thought they had the league won as they beat Sunderland one nil and their game finished before Man City’s game against Queens Park Rangers. Man City were getting beaten 1-2 but there was five minutes added on at the end of the game. Edin Dzeko made it level on 93 minutes and Sergio Aguero created history as he scored the winner in the 95th minute.

Leicester’s Improbable Run

2014/2015 was Leicester’s first season back in the Premier League. Claudio Ranieri was appointed as new manager before the start of 2015/2016 Premier League.

Jamie Vardy was on fire as he scored in 11 successive games. Kasper Schmeichel was extraordinary as they only conceded 36 goals in their title winning season.


The famous goal that Vincent Kompany scored for Manchester City against Leicester was amazing and crucial in winning the 2018/2019 Premier League.

Harry Kane

Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane hits another record as he scores 200 Premier League goals. He is only 60 goals behind Alan Shearer for highest Premier League goal scorer. If Kane keeps fit, he will break that record in a couple of seasons.