Spurs Trio Make PFA Team of the Year

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year has been announced ahead of the PFA awards on Sunday. Spurs trio Jan Vertonghen, Christian Eriksen and Harry Kane have made the cut. They are joined by five Manchester City players, as well as one player from Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool.

As expected, David de Gea has been put between the sticks. Vertonghen is joined at the back by Kyle Walker, Nicolas Otamendi and Marcos Alonso. The three-man midfield consists of David Silva, Kevin de Bruyne and of course, Christian Eriksen. Mohammed Salah, Sergio Aguero and Harry Kane complete the squad

Spurs Trio Make PFA Team of the Year

Jan Vertonghen

This is Jan Vertonghen’s second time in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year having previously made it into the side in the 2012/13 season.

In the absence of Toby Alderweireld, Vertonghen has had an outstanding season. He has been recognised as one of Spurs’ best players following his consistent performances this season.

Vertonghen has played 33 league games this season, keeping 13 clean sheets. He has completed 63 tackles with a tackle success rate of 63%. He has won 220 of 319 duels and 108 of 168 aerial battles. His 2,255 successful passes portray him as one of the best ball-playing centre-backs in the league. Quite staggeringly, he has completed 142 long balls this season.

Christian Eriksen

This is surprisingly Eriksen’s first time in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Eriksen’s form this season has attracted interest from Europe’s biggest sides, particularly Barcelona. This has arguably been his best season in London, and he is finally gaining the plaudits he deserves.

Eriksen has 10 goals and nine assists in 33 league appearances this season. This has been his best goalscoring season at Spurs but his overall performances have also reached a new level. He shows exemplary composure on the ball, his vision is matched only by the world’s best and his understanding of his teammates has proved very beneficial for Spurs this season. He undoubtedly deserves his place in this team.

Harry Kane

This is Harry Kane’s fourth consecutive season in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Despite his seemingly inevitable concession of the Golden Boot to Mohammed Salah, Kane has continued his meritorious goal-scoring form this season.

Kane has scored 26 league goals in 33 games this season. Quite admirably, nine of those goals have been scored with his so-called ‘weaker” foot’. He has attempted 169 shots this season, more than anyone else in the league.

Spurs Help Dominate PFA Team of the Year Again

This is the third successive season that Spurs have had a considerable presence in the team of the year. In 2015/16, four of Pochettino’s men made it into the side (Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, Dele Alli, Harry Kane). Spurs also saw four of their players in the side in 2016/17, with Kyle Walker replacing Alderweireld in the previous season’s group. All this, followed by three players this season, proves that Spurs are now one of England’s best sides. Pochettino has truly transformed the entire club.

Main Photo:

Embed from Getty Images

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share article

Latest articles